Something New

So over the past week I have been working really hard on beginning to create a social network of friends on Twitter and been posting my thoughts on my blog.  I have to say that the response I have received is amazing! People I don’t even know have commented on my blog and have had discussions with me about professional issues on Twitter.  Its like I am living in a whole new world online.  Twitter is really user friendly and I like it a lot, although I think the text box limits you to what you want to say.  Sometimes 140 characters just isn’t enough to express your full thought (s) or ask a question.

Just a small reflection to a posting I read this morning about Flickr accounts… I have such mixed feelings about my comfort level in regards to social networking and sharing information about myself online.  I’m sure I will get more comfortable as time goes in my computer class, but I just have to keep reminding myself that identity theft, etc is not as common as MSM makes it out to be (Thanks Alec for sharing that with me).  Afterall, I do post pictures on Facebook and I’m sure that even though I have the security cranked up as high as it will go, anyone who knows what they are doing can see them.I think that sharing stories and what not is great because it sends ideas and information to people who normally would not hear.   So far, there has been 158 hits on my blog, mostly from the States.  These people have heard some of my stories and normally would not.  I find this kind of fascinating.

6 responses to “Something New

  1. I consider myself a dedicated ed researcher and I could not function without my network of blogs and my Twitter resources. Anyone in education not utilising these tools is missing the biggest part of their professional training, since social networks dramatically magnify our ability to discover new solutions. Welcome to this world. Join the conversations. Read, Write, Share, Argue, Discover.

  2. Good luck creating your social network.
    I have recently started creating my own, and it
    is very powerful indeed!

  3. Sarah…

    Sharing stories is the most powerful learning experience our students can have. Having that authentic audience for their conversations is so motivating.

    Many people keep warning about keeping our kids safe by limiting their exposure online as much as possible. I would argue the opposite.

    I think our challenge is to teach students (from a young age) to develop and maintain a positive digital footprint. It simply won’t be enough to have nothing negative show up. The future will demand that, when an employer, university entrance officer or business partner “google” us, we have a profile on-line.

  4. Welcome to the whole new world online : )

    It’s not really as new as it first seems – I think that’s the comfort you are seeing in your future. It will get normal.

    All of this is just people who happen to be extra connected without regard to geography. There are still jerks of course, but for the majority of the time, it’s just people like you trying to learn, grow, and help each other along the way. It’s fun, it’s big, and it’s full of potential.

    I asked an online friend who just graduated to do a quick video about what blogging has done for him.

    This is what he put together:

    Have fun : )

  5. Welcome to the journey. Walking the line between personal and private is something we all have to work through. It’s good to be skeptical. It’s good to be careful. It’s good to be patient.

    I like to think of information as belonging to three categories. There’s the stuff you want to share with the world. Maybe they’re blog posts, or tweets, or even pictures or video. There’s no problem putting that stuff online. Then, there’s the stuff you don’t want to share. Bank account records, embarrassing stories of a mis-spent youth, the secret location of the spare key to the house. You don’t want to put that stuff online regardless of how well-protected it may seem.

    The third category is the stuff you’re indifferent about. “I don’t really mind if others see this, but why would they want to?” That’s the hard category. I think we’re all surprised when we start sharing these kinds of things, and find that others are interested in them. It helps build new relationships and make connections with others who share similar interests.

    Good luck with your network.

  6. Hey Sarah,

    I can see where you are coming from about not being sure about posting all of your important information on the web. After posting my about me video for ECMP 455 on YouTube I was a bit concerned. My dad said, “So you mean anyone in the world can watch that?” At first I was like yes, but at the same time it was a bit scary. I know that identity theft, kidnapping, etc via the internet is not the common as well, but at the same time it is a little bit scary. Who is viewing my About Me profile? At the same time, I think developing a PLE/PLN community is great and will definitely help me in the future, but what about the select few “creepers”?

Leave a Reply

