So what does it all mean?

This ‘Did You Know?’ video really gets me thinking every time I watch it.  And every time I watch it, something catches my eye and causes me to stop and reflect about how the stat applies to my own life.  I didn’t realize that we are preparing kids for jobs that don’t yet exist yet, using technologies that haven’t been invented, in order to solve problems we don’t know are problems yet. But when thinking back to when I was young, there wasn’t any experts running information sessions on how to use Google effectively.  And speaking of Google, I was shocked to find out  that there are 31 billion searches on Google every month.  That’s crazy!

And then there is the fact that that number of text messages sent and received every day exceeds the total population of the planet.  This isn’t as hard to believe as I thought because I roughly send 30 – 40 texts alone and that will be nothing compared to some people.

What about that the amount of new technical information is doubling every year.  For students starting a four year technical degree, this means that the first half of what they learned in their first yer of study will be outdated by their third year of study.  Does this mean that by the time I start teaching next year, I will need a new computer and an overhead projector will be becoming extinct.

The fact that by 2013, a supercomputer will be built that exceeds the computational capabilities of the human brain makes me a little nervous.  Will a computer take over the entire world and run the show just like in the movies?

So what does this all mean?

5 responses to “So what does it all mean?

  1. Sarah,

    I think you have made some valid points in this blog. It is quite overwhelming thinking that technology is changing so quickly. I think it is so important to continually be open to change and open to trying new things. This is how we keep up to date.

    Personally, I don’t think a computer will take over the world, but I do think it will change the way we educate our students. As Alec has said in our classes it is no longer about memorizing things it is more about using the resources around you to your best ability.

    I think the whole method behind education is in the process behind education and it is so important to build our Personal Learning Communities in order to collaborate and find the ways we can use technology to the best of our abilities to enhance student learning.

  2. Yes Kristina I agree that we have to continue to be open minded and not be afraid to try new things and it is too bad that not all teachers address using technology in their classrooms as openly and comfortably as you and I do. And it is important to keep up to date with technology also so we can understand where are learners are coming from and explore new ways in which they can learn from. For example, would your students learn about the world’s continents by looking at a map and memorizing what goes where, or would they learn best by exploring on Google Earth and discovering which continent is where on their own? I just love Google Earth hehe.

  3. Thanks Sarah for sharing your comments and video. The video definitely catches the viewers attention and proves how important technology is becoming in our world. After watching the video I thought a lot about the comment that technology doubles every year. It is a big issue as an educator not knowing what to expect for the future of technology in the classroom. Also, I was thinking about is any of the information we are learning in our ECMP class going to prepare us for what is to come? I think this is only the beginning and we will have to continue learning more knowledge and skills to provide new information to our students. It will be interesting to see all the changes in technology even for the next 5 years. As well, the video definitely makes me think about how I should be using technology more in the classroom with my students. It is apart of their life and their future, so I think we need to prepare them with the knowledge and resources we have. Being able to use technology is a skill they need for life!

  4. Pingback: Too Many Choices??? « Krystal’s Blog

Leave a Reply

