Personal Program Plans

I spent today trying to motivate myself to begin my Personal Program Plan and Case Study assignment in my Ed. Psychology class today, but ended up with nothing but feeling overwhelmed. Since we were not given a template to use and were told to make one that works best for us. So how am I supposed to know if I am doing it right or not? I didn’t realize how much work went into creating a PPP for a student and making appropriate SMART goals. I was given this really cute poem about PPPs and it reminds me that I am not alone when I feel overwhelmed by the amount of practice needed before I can say “I’ve got it right!”

Testimonial Dr. Seuss’s IEP
Author Unknown

Do you like these IEPs?
I do not like these IEPs.
I do not like them, Jeeze Louise!

We test, we check.
We plan, we meet.
But nothing ever seems complete.

Would you, could you like the form?

I do not like the form I see.
Not page 1, not 2, not 3.
Another change.
A brand new box.
I think we have all lost our spots.

Could you all meet here or there?

We could not all meet here or there.
We could not all fit anywhere.
Not in a room.
Not in a hall.
There seems to be no space at all.

Would you, could you meet again?

I cannot meet again next week.
No lunch, no prep.
Please here me speak.
No not at dusk. No not at dawn.
At 4 pm I should be gone.

Could you hear while we all speak out?
Would you write the words they spout?

I cannot hear, I cannot write.
This does not need to be a fight.
Sign here, check there,
Mark this, note date.
Become the student’s advocate.

You do not like them,
So you say.
Try again! Try again!
And then you may.

If you will just let me be,
I’ll try again, and we will see.

Say!

I almost like IEPs.
I think I’ve done 6003!
But I must practice
Day and night
Till I can say,
“I’ve got it right!”

2 responses to “Personal Program Plans

  1. PPP’s drive us all crazy! They are a bureaucratic nightmare at least in the north; we spend so much time working on the PPP’s it feels like we have nothing left for the students. I’m passing the poem on to my resource room teachers. Thanks.

  2. They are long and time consuming, but they aren’t all that bad. I have done 4 of them so far, and what you see in the classes, compared to what I have seen in the field, they aren’t as intense. I would like to say though that objectives both short term and long are annoying. Don’t stress it, they aren’t all that bad!

Leave a Reply

